College of Arts and Sciences

Department of History

Department of History

Navigation + Search

People

Faculty

Name Title Specialization Email Phone
Molly Berger Associate Dean, and Instructor American Social and Cultural History; History of American Technology molly.berger@case.edu 216.368.4220
John Broich Associate Professor British Empire john.broich@case.edu 216.368.5599
Daniel Cohen Associate Professor Early American History daniel.a.cohen@case.edu 216.368.4165
Ananya Dasgupta Assistant Professor Modern South Asian history ananya.dasgupta@case.edu
John Flores The Climo Junior Professor, Assistant Professor Mexican American History; History of Immigration; Labor john.flores@case.edu 216.368.4219
Jia-Chen Fu Assistant Professor History of Modern China; History of Medicine; Cultural History jia-chen.fu@case.edu 216.368.2623
Jay Geller The Samuel Rosenthal Professor of Judaic Studies, Associate Professor History of Modern Europe; German History and Jewish History jay.geller@case.edu 216.368.5156
John Grabowski The Krieger-Mueller Joint Professor in History Public History/Museum Studies; Ethnic History and Urban History john.grabowski@case.edu 216.368.2381
David Hammack The Hiram C. Haydn Professor of History U.S. Social History, Urban History david.hammack@case.edu 216.368.2671
Kenneth Ledford Associate Professor History of Modern Germany; European Legal History kenneth.ledford@case.edu 216.368.4144
Miriam Levin Professor Industrial History; History of European and French Technology miriam.levin@case.edu 216.368.2624
Alan Rocke Distinguished University Professor and The Henry Eldridge Bourne Professor of History History of Science alan.rocke@case.edu 216.368.2614
Jonathan Sadowsky Chair, and The Theodore J. Castele Professor, Associate Professor History of Africa; Comparative History; Medical History jonathan.sadowsky@case.edu 216.368.2622
Renee Sentilles Associate Professor History of American Women; American Studies; Cultural History renee.sentilles@case.edu 216.368.5413
Peter Shulman Assistant Professor History of Technology; History of Energy; Environmental History; History of U.S. Foreign Relations peter.shulman@case.edu 216.368.2261
Ted Steinberg The Adeline Barry Davee Distinguished Professor of History U.S. Environmental; Social History; Legal History theodore.steinberg@case.edu 216.368.4137
Gillian Weiss Associate Professor History of Early Modern France; Mediterranean History; Comparative Slaveries gillian.weiss@case.edu 216.368.4107
Rhonda Williams Associate Professor American History, African American History, History of Race and Gender rhonda.williams@case.edu 216.368.2515

 

Visiting Faculty and Lecturers

Name Title Specialization Email Phone
Cookie Woolner Adjunct Assistant Professor, Scientist and Chair, The Holden Arboretum African-American History, Women’s Studies  caw136@case.edu  216.368.5031

 

Associated Faculty

Name Title Specialization Email Phone
James Edmonson Adjunct Associate Professor and Chief Curator, Dittrick Medical History Center History of Medicine  james.edmonson@case.edu  216.368.6391
Gladys Haddad Adjunct Professor of American Studies and Director, Western Reserve Studies Symposium American Studies; Northeast Ohio History  gladys.haddad@case.edu
Patricia Princehouse Director, Program in Evolutionary Biology, & Outreach Director, Institute for the Science of Origins History & Philosophy of Science, History of Ideas, Cultural Studies, Evolutionary Biology  patricia.princehouse@case.edu  216.368.4117
Rachel Sternberg Associate Professor Greek history; classical tradition; history of emotion; human rights  rachel.sternberg@case.edu  216.368.2251
John Vacha Adjunct Assistant Professor and Director, History Day, District 3  john.vacha@case.edu / jvacha@wrhs.org  216.721.5722 x1503

 

Other Appointments

Name Title Specialization Email Phone
Amy Absher Full-time Lecturer amy.absher@case.edu
Bernard Jim Full-time Lecturer bernard.jim@case.edu  216.368.5031

 

Staff

Name Title Email Phone
Gayle Godek Coordinator gayle.godek@case.edu 216.368.1975
Emily Sparks Department Assistant emily.sparks@case.edu
Elizabeth Weiss Department Assistant elizabeth.weiss@case.edu 216.368.2380