Faculty

Name Title Specialization Email Phone
John Broich Associate Professor British Empire john.broich@case.edu 216.368.5599
Daniel Cohen

Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies

*on leave 2019-2020*

Early American History daniel.a.cohen@case.edu 216.368.4165
Ananya Dasgupta Assistant Professor Modern South Asian history ananya.dasgupta@case.edu
John Flores Associate Professor Mexican American History; History of Immigration; Labor john.flores@case.edu 216.368.4219
Jay Geller

The Samuel Rosenthal Professor of Judaic Studies, Professor

*on leave 2019-2020*

Jewish History; History of Modern Europe; German History jay.geller@case.edu 216.368.5156
John Grabowski The Krieger-Mueller Joint Professor in History Public History/Museum Studies; Ethnic History and Urban History john.grabowski@case.edu 216.368.2381
Kenneth Ledford Associate Professor and Chair History of Modern Germany; European Legal History kenneth.ledford@case.edu 216.368.4144
Aviva Rothman Assistant Professor History of Science; History of Early Modern Europe; Cultural/Intellectual History aviva.rothman@case.edu 216.368.2515
Jonathan Sadowsky The Theodore J. Castele Professor, Professor, Acting Director of Graduate Studies 2019-2020 History of Africa; Comparative History; Medical History jonathan.sadowsky@case.edu 216.368.2622
Renee Sentilles Professor History of American Women; American Studies; Cultural History renee.sentilles@case.edu 216.368.5413
Peter Shulman Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies History of Technology; History of Energy; Environmental History; History of U.S. Foreign Relations peter.shulman@case.edu 216.368.2261
Ted Steinberg The Adeline Barry Davee Distinguished Professor of History U.S. Environmental; Social History; Legal History theodore.steinberg@case.edu 216.368.4137
Gillian Weiss Associate Professor History of Early Modern France; Mediterranean History; Comparative Slaveries gillian.weiss@case.edu 216.368.4107

Regular Faculty in Full-Time Administrative Positions

Name Title Specialization Email Phone
Ben Vinson III Hiram C. Haydn Professor of History Colonial Mexico; Latin America; African diaspora ben.vinson@case.edu 216.368.4346

Emeritus/ta Faculty

Name Title Specialization Email Phone
David Hammack Hiram C. Haydn Professor of History Emeritus U.S. Social History; Urban History david.hammack@case.edu 216.368.2671
Alan Rocke Distinguished University Professor and The Henry Eldridge Bourne Professor of History Emeritus History of Science alan.rocke@case.edu 216.368.2614
Molly Berger Associate Dean College of Arts and Science and Instructor of History Emerita History of Technology molly.berger@case.edu 216.368.2614
Miriam Levin Professor, Henry Eldridge Bourne Professor of History Industrial History; History of European and French Technology miriam.levin@case.edu 216.368.2624

Associated Faculty

Name Title Specialization Email Phone
Kristen Beales Visiting Assistant Professor Early American History, History of Religion, History of Capitalism kristen.beales@case.edu
Amanda Mahoney Chief Curator, Dittrick Medical History Center curator@case.edu 216.368.6391
Patricia Princehouse Director, Program in Evolutionary Biology, & Outreach Director, Institute for the Science of Origins History & Philosophy of Science; History of Ideas; Cultural Studies; Evolutionary Biology  patricia.princehouse@case.edu  216.368.4117
Einav Rabinovitch-Fox Visiting Assistant Professor American History; Women’s Gender History  einav.rabinovitch-fox@case.edu
Maddalena Rumor Visiting Assistant Professor Intellectual History of Medicine; Pharmacology in Antiquity  maddalena.rumor@case.edu
Rachel Sternberg Associate Professor Greek History; Classical Tradition; History of Emotion; Human Rights  rachel.sternberg@case.edu  216.368.2251
John Vacha Adjunct Assistant Professor  john.vacha@case.edu / jvacha@wrhs.org  216.721.5722 x1503

 

Other Appointments

Name Title Specialization Email Phone
Elise Hagesfeld Part-time Lecturer History of the Non-profit Sector elise.hagesfeld@case.edu
Anne McGinness Part-time Lecturer Latin American History anne.mcginness@case.edu
Elizabeth Todd Part-time Lecturer Western Medieval European History; History of Christianity, Byzantine Empire; Polar Regions elizabeth.todd@case.edu
James Bonk Part-time Lecturer East Asian studies james.bonk@case.edu

 

SAGES Teaching Fellows

Name Title Specialization Email Phone
Vicki Daniel SAGES Teaching Fellow History of American Medicine; History of the Body; Visual Culture vicki.daniel@case.edu
Bernard Jim SAGES Teaching Fellow American History; Technology and Culture; Technology and Society bernard.jim@case.edu 216.368.5031
Andrea Milne SAGES Teaching Fellow Twentieth-Century U.S. History; History of Medicine andrea.milne@case.edu
Luke Reader SAGES Teaching Fellow Modern Britain luke.reader@case.edu
David Busch SAGES Teaching Fellow Modern U.S. History, History of Student Activism david.busch@case.edu

 

Secretary
meg192@case.edu
216.368.2625
Department Assistant
ehw3@case.edu
216.368.2380